Breaking News

Travel Restrictions Within Canada Announced

As the Government of Canada continues to monitor the evolving COVID-19 pandemic, they are constantly determining what new measures may be required to contain the spread of the virus.

These new measures include:

Today transport Minister Marc Garneau, announced that the Government of Canada is introducing new domestic transportation measures to support provincial, territorial and local efforts to mitigate the risk of COVID-19 spreading from travelling within Canada.

“The COVID-19 pandemic is having a significant impact on the transportation industry, travellers, shippers and the economy. We recognize the importance of the continued movement of goods and the ongoing delivery of essential services in Canada’s response to COVID‑19, while taking necessary measures to protect the health and safety of Canadians. Today’s announcement is another step in the right direction and will ensure alignment on a national level. I also want to thank all essential workers in the trade and transportation sector for continuing to provide services that benefit Canadians and the economy in this difficult time.”

The Minister of Transport, the Honourable Marc Garneau

Air And Rail

These measures will come into effect on March 30, 2020 at noon EDT.

  • A requirement for all air operators to conduct a health check of travellers before they board a flight within Canada or departing from Canada, looking for visible signs of illness prior to boarding.
  • A requirement for air operators to refuse boarding to a passenger that presents COVID-19 symptoms. The denial will remain in effect for a period of 14 days, or until a medical certificate is presented that confirms that the traveller’s symptoms are not related to COVID-19. These measures will apply to aircraft with 10 seats or more.
  • A requirement for air operators to notify travellers that they may be subject to provincial or territorial measures at their final destination.
  • These measures do not apply to commuter trains with exception to the following intercity passenger rail operators.

    Great Canadian Railtour Company Ltd.; Keewatin Railway Company; Ontario Northland Transportation Commission; Pacific & Arctic Railway Navigation, British Columbia & Yukon Railway, British Yukon Railway doing business as White Pass & Yukon Route Railroad (WP&YR); Transport Ferroviaire Tshiuetin Inc.; and VIA Rail Canada Inc.

Images Patjosse and Phil369

TDS News
TDS News
News does not and should not dehumanize people for the sake of financial gains, political favours and social media clout.